Are you an avid reader looking for your next "fix"? Can't bear to be without some form of reading material in your spare time? Welcome to my world! Whether you are seeking a new book to "feed your need", or you are an author seeking an unbiased point of view on your own recent masterpiece, this is the place to be. With life as with books, you never know where the next step might take you...

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

You're always welcome at the HEARTWOOD HOTEL!

HI there!
Welcome back to another day of bookish fun here at Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers.

Heartwood Hotel family/friends...
Mona, Ms. Prickles, and Mr. Heartwood, himself!

Today, you're in for a sweet treat, but that doesn't mean that it isn't dappled with trouble, danger, and hard won friendships.  It's a soon-to-be released chapter book series by Kallie George and illustrated by Stephanie Graegin via Disney Hyperion, entitled Heartwood Hotel.  The first two installments are getting set to hit bookstore and virtual shelves July 4th, 2017...go ahead, I'll let you mark your calendar before I continue...ready?  Great!  Now, don't worry, they won't sit there for long because this family of mismatched but oh so suited for each other animal friends are going to steal your heart away for adventure after adventure!  In fact, they're ready to get started RIGHT NOW, so if you'd be so kind as to grab your bags, we'll get started.  Up first...



An adventure filled beginning to what is going to be an adorable series for readers of all ages...

Mona the Mouse is in trouble.  Her home is being washed away by a terrible storm!  She's all by her lonesome, orphaned at a young age, but she's not giving up just yet.  She may be small in size, but she's big in heart, determination, and can-do attitude, which eventually lead her to the not-so-obviously doorstep of the Heartwood Hotel.  It's warm, cozy, and though filled to the brim with guests at the moment, always seems to find a place for newcomers thanks to the ever-so-generous Mr. Heartwood.  But wait...there's more than meets the eye at this hotel as well as in the story!  It seems that danger is still knocking on their door, from both the outside and within!  Will they be able to pull together and trust one another before it's too late?








Another sweet tale to add to this quickly growing series that reminds us of what's really important in life... family, friends, and a kind heart. A few extra seedcakes doesn't hurt either...

It's the season of gift giving in Fernwood Forest, but what's a mouse to do that didn't grow up with knowledge of those traditions?  Well, when you're the ever sweet, big-hearted Mona, you know where there's a will there's a way.  A gift of gratitude will be the last thing on their minds though when both guests and snow arrive in abundance, food starts to run short, and there's a thief in their midst!  If they're going to keep the grandest hotel's reputation, let alone their current guests alive and well, something has to be done and fast!  Good thing animals are known for their sharp vision, quick reflexes, and uber senses of smell...






Between the abundance of characters, multiple story lines, and adorable illustrations, this series has everything going for it and then some. It's enough to make one long for a room at the Heartwood Hotel to call one's own... and I'm pretty sure we'd be most welcome.  A great read for the heat of summer or the dead of winter that will kindle the fire of friendship, sharing, and kindness in the heart's of readers tall and small.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



Image result for disney hyperion logo

Special thanks to Cassie at Disney Publishing Worldwide for the dual ARC for review.  (THANKS!)  For more information on this title, the author, the illustrator, or the publisher, feel free to click through the links provided above.  Both titles are scheduled for release July 4th, 2017 via Disney Hyperion, so mark your calendar or pre-order your copy today!

Until next time, remember...if it looks good, READ IT!


Monday, June 26, 2017

BLOG TOUR: Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton

Hi there!
Welcome back to another week here at Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers, and THANK YOU for making us a part of your busy day.  ^-^

Today, I'm pleased as punch to be shining the spotlight on a soon-to-be released title via Random House Books for Young Readers as well as participating in their virtual tour.  It's a Young Adult release from a new-to-me author that really strikes a nerve as she digs into the darkest corners of the mind to expose our deepest secrets, which is often our truest selves...but I'm getting ahead of myself.  First things first, and all that...it's time for the introduction.  Today's book of choice is....


by
Julia Walton
9780399550881
Random House Books for Young Readers

About the book...
Fans of More Happy Than Not, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It’s Kind of a Funny Story will cheer for Adam as he struggles with schizophrenia in this brilliantly honest and unexpectedly funny debut.
 
Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees and hears people who aren’t there: Rebecca, a beautiful girl who understands him; the Mob Boss, who harasses him; and Jason, the naked guy who’s unfailingly polite. It should be easy to separate the real from the not real, but Adam can’t.
 
Still, there’s hope. As Adam starts fresh at a new school, he begins a drug trial that helps him ignore his visions. Suddenly everything seems possible, even love. When he meets Maya, a fiercely intelligent girl, he desperately wants to be the great guy that she thinks he is. But then the miracle drug begins to fail, and Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret.




~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Image result for turning pages gif

There were no reading updates with this one (if you follow on GoodReads, you may already know this), simply a start and a finish...and that my friends speaks volumes in and of itself.

It's a curious story that lets us inside the life of Adam... and Rebecca... and the mobsters... and several others that pop in and out of existence at will. That's right... Adam is different in some ways...he's been diagnosed with schizophrenia at a rather young age...but that doesn't make him any less worthy of life, love, and the chance to simply be. This is his story (albeit, a fictitious tale) and while filled with drug trials, non-productive therapy visits (at least verbally), and battles to discern what's actually there versus what he sees/hears, it's also bursting at the seams with your usual teenage angst, affairs of the heart, and the struggle to find ones place in that black hole called high school.  

Image result for schizophrenia

Seeing Adam's struggle from the inside out was eye opening.  I mean, there are a lot of WHAT IF questions posed that are really hard to fathom.  WHAT IF you walked into a room and had to pretend it was empty because you couldn't trust that the crowd you first perceived was actually there?  WHAT IF you screamed out against a danger you perceived to be imminent, that wasn't actually there?  It's mind boggling and heart crushing at the same time knowing that people actually have to face situations like this as their version of the norm.  The other other character connections made throughout the novel, really helped to balance things out and provide Adam with a support system he didn't always count on. Maya was a dream though not in the softest of tones, as was Dwight (quirky but AMAZING), Adam's mom, Paul, and the faceless/nameless therapist he's writing and discussing life with. My heart broke for him several times over, but perked right back up when all seemed right again with his world... or at least as right as it could be.

In the end, it tackles some rather large issues you weren't expecting in creative ways to provide readers an experience they won't forget, while sharing the truths about an affliction that is often approached with preconceived notions thanks to those most publicized cases in the media.  It reminds us that everyone is different, everyone should be given the chance to reach their potential...some just need to choose from another toolbox.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


About the author...

JULIA WALTON received her MFA in creative writing from Chapman University. When she’s not reading or baking cookies, she’s indulging in her profound love of Swedish Fish, mechanical pencils, and hobbit-sized breakfasts. Julia lives in Huntington Beach, California, with her husband and daughter. Follow her on Twitter at @Jwaltonwrites.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Image result for random house books for young readers logo

Special thanks to Allison at Random House Children's Books for the ARC for review as well as the chance to bring this tour to you.  (THANKS!)  For more information on this title, the author, or the publisher, feel free to click through the links provided above. This title is set for release July 4th, 2017 (at the time of this post), so mark your calendar or pre-order your copy today!  ALSO, if you happen to be in California, check out her upcoming tour schedule this July!

Until next time, remember...if it looks good, READ IT!

Copyright © 2009-present Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers
Powered by Blogger
Content by the Insatiable Reader