Are you an avid reader looking for your next "fix"? Can't bear to be without some form of reading material in your spare time? Welcome to my world! Whether you are seeking a new book to "feed your need", or you are an author seeking an unbiased point of view on your own recent masterpiece, this is the place to be. With life as with books, you never know where the next step might take you...

Thursday, October 20, 2016

RATPUNZEL, Ratpunzel...let down your tail? Ursula Vernon's latest Hamster Princess arrives!

Hi guys and gals!
Welcome back to Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers.

Today, we've the esteemed pleasure of joining a blog tour celebration from Penguin Young Readers starring the latest addition to one of my favorite Middle Grade series from none other than author Ursula Vernon!  Name ringing a bell?  It should.  She's the creative force behind the Dragonbreath series, among other wordy wonders, and quite the hoot on social media.  (Seriously, catch up with her on Twitter or'll see.)  The star of today's stop is the THIRD addition to the fantabulous adventure filled Hamster Princess series that just keeps getting better and better.  Ladies and gents, princes and princesses, rats, mice, and hamsters alike, please join me as we welcome today's blog tour guest and book of choice..

Hamster Princess: Ratpunzel by Ursula Vernon

Ursula Vernon
Dial Books for Young Readers

About the book...
Princess Harriet Hamsterbone does not like sitting around at home. How’s a princess supposed to have any fun when her parents are constantly reminding her to be careful and act princessly? So when her pal Prince Wilbur needs help finding a stolen hydra egg, Harriet happily takes up the quest.  The thief’s trail leads them to a wicked witch and a tall tower, occupied by a rat whose tail has more to it than meets the eye!

The third book in the award-winning comic hybrid Hamster Princess series will make you look at rodents, royalty, and fairy tales in a whole new light.


We begin with a spin through the Kingdom of Sunshine (sounds great, right?), where our feisty princess shares this charming FYI...

Image result for princess crown

"Yep," said Harriet. "Not gonna lie. If I had to live here, I'd go evil in a week. I'd be building an army of giant spider-chickens and saying things like, 'No, Mr. Wilbur, I expect you to die, muahahaha."
-- pg 34, (ARC)

...and the puns, wit, snark, and fun keep a comin'.
(Seriously though, I agree with the Harriet 100%.)

This is a series that began with the introduction of Princess Harriet Hamsterbone while she was under the curse-turned-blessing-yet-still-evil-spell-regardless-of-the-spin-she-chose-to-put-on-it.  We learned of her adventuresome spirit, her devil may care attitude towards danger, and her desire to be in charge of her own destiny, not some potentially whiny and controlling prince.  Another FYI, she's not interested in settling down yet, she's just a kid (number wise) and has MANY villains to put in their place, damsels to assist in order for them to rescue themselves, and much of the world to see.  Yes, with her trusty battle quail by her side, and her good friend (mostly) Prince Wilbur (most unprincely but hey, he works as the yang to her yin personality) up for a challenge (or perhaps better said, needing her assistance to solve yet another crisis), she's the Hamster with the Most-est, and ready to take on whatever may come her way.  Oh, and it doesn't hurt to throw in some bungee cords...


Anywho, this time around, our fabu princess sets out to help Wilbur find his missing hydra egg, and ends up trying to outwit a very sinister gerbil, rescue a rat-sel in not so much distress but rather seclusion, and return the soon-not-to-be-an-egg-but-an-actual-baby-hydra to Heady before it hatches.  Yeah, nothing to it but to do it, at least when Harriet is involved, but don't get too far ahead of yourself because there are some unexpected knots in the road ahead...and just when you think you've got the potential villain's game figured out, there very well WOOD, I mean, COULD be a twist you weren't expecting.  *wink wink*

In the end, it's another MUST READ for Hamster Princess fans the world over as well as for those still to be inducted into the fandom.  Come for the story, stay for the characters, and laugh your socks off along the way.  Seriously folks, it may be categorized as Middle Grade Fiction (a WONDERFUL section to be in, if I do say so myself!) and be great for girls and boys of that age range, but the writing, the snark, the adventure, the's a good time through the pages for ALL AGES. 


About the author...

Image result for author ursula vernon

Ursula Vernon is the creator of the popular Dragonbreath series, and her work has won a Hugo award. She lives, writes, draws, and lives in a castle (ok, maybe it’s more like a house) in Pittsboro, North Carolina.



Penguin Random House

Special thanks to Chelsea at Penguin Young Readers for the chance to bring this tour to you as well as the ARC for review.  (THANKS!)  For more information on this title, the author, or the publisher, feel free to click through the links provided above.  This title just celebrated its BOOK BIRTHDAY this Tuesday via Dial Books for Young Readers, a division of Penguin Random House, so be on the lookout for it on a bookstore shelf or virtual retailer of your choosing.  Be sure to check out all the fun to be had with a stop over at the sites the tour has been to already as well as tomorrow's wrap up...

10/17: The Delightful Life | Reasons to Read
10/18: Crafty Moms Share | Review + Craft
10/19: Margie’s Must Reads | Spotlight Post
10/20: Insatiable Readers | Review
10/21: As they Grow Up | Reasons to Read

Don't forget for more Hamster Princess fun, check out the first two books in the series!  You won't be disappointed.

Hamster Princess  Hamster Princess: Of Mice and Magic

Until next time, remember...if it looks good, READ IT!

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

BOOK SPOTLIGHT: Just Fine with Caroline by Annie England Noblin

Hi guys and gals!
Welcome back to Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers.

Today, we're playing host to a stop along the TLC Book Tours virtual train for a Contemporary Romance novel that's not only got curb appeal but from the sound of things, a story to boot!  I won't hem and haw over the ponders going round in my own mind, but I will say this...I WANT THAT PUPPY!  ^-^  Seriously, so cute.  *ahem*  Anyway, let's get to the book, shall we?  Today's spotlight shines on...

Annie England Noblin
William Morrow Paperbacks

About the book...
From the author of Sit! Stay! Speak! comes a tender, terrific novel complete with long-buried secrets, a three-legged pot belly pig, and an irresistible dog—an unforgettable story about love, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Mary Alice Monroe.

Caroline O’Connor never dreamed she’d be back home in Cold River, Missouri, the Ozark Mountain town where everyone is ‘up your business.’…they mean well as they drive you crazy. She thought she’d left town for good, but now she’s back, helping to care for her New York born mother—struck with Alzheimer’s, and prone to saying and doing anything—and her father, the beloved local doctor frustrated he can’t cure his own wife.

As for Caroline, she’s doing ‘just fine’ coping with her parents, her brazen cousin Ava Dawn’s marital disasters, her mostly-deaf dog…and with Noah Cranwell, far-flung relative of a local family mostly infamous for running moonshine, an ex-veteran who’s come to Cold River with troubles of his own.

Caroline believes she knows everything about Cold River and the people who live in its hills and hollers … but sometimes life’s greatest surprises happen closest to home.

Add to Goodreads badge


About the author...

Annie England Noblin lives with her son, husband, and three dogs in the Missouri Ozarks. She graduated with an M.A. in creative writing from Missouri State University and currently teaches English and communications for Arkansas State University in Mountain Home, Arkansas. She spends her free time playing make-believe, feeding stray cats, and working with animal shelters across the country to save homeless dogs.

Connect with Annie on Facebook and Twitter.


Image result for TLC Book Tours logo

Special thanks to Trish at TLC Book Tours and the team at HarperCollins for the chance to bring this title to you.  (THANKS!)  For more information on this title, the author, the publisher, THE TOUR, or those on the horizon, feel free to click through the links provided above. This title just released last week via William Morrow Paperbacks, an imprint of HarperCollins, so be on the lookout for it on a bookstore shelf or virtual retailer of your choosing. Be sure to stop by the other sites on the tour for more fun including reviews, interviews, and more.

Until next time, remember...if it looks good, READ IT!

Copyright © 2009-present Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers
Powered by Blogger
Content by the Insatiable Reader