Are you an avid reader looking for your next "fix"? Can't bear to be without some form of reading material in your spare time? Welcome to my world! Whether you are seeking a new book to "feed your need", or you are an author seeking an unbiased point of view on your own recent masterpiece, this is the place to be. With life as with books, you never know where the next step might take you...
So, QUICK NOTE...blog is pretty much shut down at the moment. We were right in the path of Hurricane Michael (like so many others), and while the family is safe (pups, and parents), the house didn't fair as well. So, reading and blogging (as much as I adore it) have to take a back burner. My apologies to any tours or promised review dates...hopefully I'll be able to "reopen" one day, but it's just not in sight as of yet. Here's hoping your reading adventures continue on with no issues! Until we meet again, stay safe, check in from time to time, and happy reading!

Monday, April 23, 2018

READ ALL ABOUT IT: It's a Twitter Takeover with Author Margaret Peterson Haddix!

Welcome back to Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers.

Image result for news


So, I've got some news for you!
TODAY, APRIL 23rd, 2018, there's a BIG EVENT happening over on Twitter.  If you haven't heard, get ready to clear your schedule because it's a YA fun day with author interaction and bookish fun to boot.  Here's the scoop!




~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~




Twitter Takeover with
Author Margaret Peterson Haddix!

The Backstage Studio

Who: Fans of Children's Fiction and Margaret Peterson Haddix!
What: Twitter Takeover. New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix will be discussing some of her "firsts" and answering reader questions about her books! (the Children of Exile series, The Missing series, the Under Their Skin series, and the Shadow Children series...plus her latest The Summer of Broken Things!)
When: TODAY, April 23rd, 2018 from 7-9pm ET

Where: @YoungEntmag
How: Head over to @YoungEntmag on April 23rd (TODAY) at 7pm ET, follow along, and tweet your questions to Margaret!

Why: The Summer of Broken Things (Simon & Schuster; April 10, 2018) marks Margaret's triumphant return to YA!  Alternating between Avery’s and Kayla’s distinct voices, The Summer of Broken Things gives readers a realistic look at a wide range of human experiences: from a loving, working class family to a wealthy, dysfunctional one – yet, all may not be what it appears. Haddix’s raw and honest approach to themes of love, betrayal, reconciliation, and personal growth will resonate with young readers, as well as anyone who has ever been hurt by the people they trust the most. This story is about family in its many forms – and how it may be found in the most unexpected places. 







~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


  • 9781481417648 
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

About the Book:
From New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix comes a haunting novel about friendship and what it really means to be a family in the face of lies and betrayal.

Fourteen-year-old Avery Armisted is athletic, rich, and pretty. Sixteen-year-old Kayla Butts is known as “butt-girl” at school. The two girls were friends as little kids, but that’s ancient history now. So it’s a huge surprise when Avery’s father offers to bring Kayla along on a summer trip to Spain. Avery is horrified that her father thinks he can choose her friends—and make her miss soccer camp. Kayla struggles just to imagine leaving the confines of her small town.

But in Spain, the two uncover a secret their families had hidden from both of them their entire lives. Maybe the girls can put aside their differences and work through it together. Or maybe the lies and betrayal will only push them—and their families—farther apart.

Margaret Peterson Haddix weaves together two completely separate lives in this engaging novel that explores what it really means to be a family—and what to do when it’s all falling apart.




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -



I had the pleasure of reading an e-ARC of this title and it was quite a memorable experience.  What starts off as a story of two girls who were once friends and are now miles apart, grows into a tale of secrets kept, and truths hidden in plain sight.  It's a story of broken things, but not in the way you might initially think.  It's not toys and trinkets, mobile phones and washers (though there is a "broken" one of those too); it's broken dreams, friendships, families, trusts, and ultimately...hearts.  As we get to know Avery, she's easier to like...sorry (not sorry!), but she's a bit of a spoiled brat for most of the book, until the wind is unexpectedly knocked out of her sails (for which I am truly sorry)...though Kayla I liked from the start despite her "doormat" tendencies (something she learns how to step away from during this eye opening trip).  They were two peas in a pod that outgrew one another in one way or the other, but the funny thing about roots is that they often run deep...and can be relied on when the going gets tough to act as our safety line, pulling us through to higher ground.  There are definitely bridges to be mended between them, as well as a few other folks you'll discover along the way as the secrets start unraveling, but the end result is definitely worth the effort.




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


About the Author:
Margaret Peterson Haddix is the author of many critically and popularly acclaimed YA and middle grade novels, including the Children of Exile series, The Missing series, the Under Their Skin series, and the Shadow Children series. A graduate of Miami University (of Ohio), she worked for several years as a reporter for The Indianapolis News. She also taught at the Danville (Illinois) Area Community College. She lives with her family in Columbus, Ohio. Visit her at HaddixBooks.com.





~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~




Image result for media masters publicity logo


Special thanks to Casey at Media Masters Publicity for the scoop on this event.  (THANKS!)  Remember...TWITTER TAKEOVER happens TODAY, 7-9 PM ET!  Hope to see you there!




Until next time, remember...if it looks good, READ IT!

1 comment:

Tracy Terry said...

Whilst not on Twitter myself I shall pass the word on to those of my friends who are.

Hmm! Whilst the cover of this book does not speak to me, your review most certainly does as I really like the sound of how the story develops from what sounds like a simple story of two friends who have grown apart into something so much more.

Copyright © 2009-present Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers
Powered by Blogger
Content by the Insatiable Reader