Tuesday, January 31, 2017

HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY: Killing Jane by Stacy Green

Hi guys and gals!
Welcome back to Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers.

Can you believe that it's THE LAST DAY OF JANUARY?  I mean, where DID the time go?  It seems like only yesterday we were ushering in the new year and making resolutions that we may or may not keep.  So far, 2017 isn't off to the greatest start (take one look at the world in general, and you know exactly what I mean), but in the world of reading, we're still experiencing smooth sailing.  Okay, in light of today's title, perhaps smooth isn't the best descriptive term to use...maybe we should consider "chaotic-stormy-waters-with-flashes-of-lightning-merely-a-breath-away" as the best descriptive passage, in the BEST way possible!  You'll see exactly what I mean here in a minute...

Ladies and gents, coming to us by way of Meryl L. Moss Media and celebrating its BOOK BIRTHDAY via Vesuvian Books, I give you today's Thriller of choice...



by
Stacy Green
9781944109271

About the book...
What if everything you've ever heard about Jack the Ripper is wrong ...

A young woman is brutally murdered in Washington D.C., and the killer leaves behind a calling card connected to some of the most infamous murders in history.

Jack the Ripper

Rookie homicide investigator Erin Prince instinctively knows the moment she sees the mutilated body that it’s only a matter of time before someone else dies.

She and her partner, Todd Beckett, are on the trail of a madman, and a third body sends them in the direction they feared most: a serial killer is walking the streets of D.C.

The clock is ticking.

Erin must push past her mounting self-doubt in order to unravel a web of secrets filled with drugs, pornography, and a decades old family skeleton before the next victim is sacrificed.

The only way to stop a killer is to beat them at their own game.




~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Image result for adults only

First things first, this book is intended for adult audiences due to graphic content...mostly in the form of damage inflicted upon the human body...and boy, oh boy does this killer get creative!  *-*

Here we have Erin Prince, a detective that's worked her way out from behind her family name, only to discover that she's still trying to prove herself; for her own benefit or everyone else's is another question altogether, but whether she realizes it or not, it's seriously getting in the way of her judgment, her ability to see the forest for the trees so to speak...as is the secret she's hiding (something apparently covered in another book, but we're told enough about to glean the extent of the damage done).  She's a complex leading lady, but she's got more than enough gumption to see this case through...and boy is she going to need it!  It's a crime that screams violence from the moment it's discovered until the final showdown.  The path to uncover who is behind these gruesome attacks is not only twisted but paved with enough false starts to discourage anyone from seeing the truth, but as with all things, it WILL come out...especially if Erin has anything to say about it.

I only had two slight negatives when all was said and done.  First, the way the violent act Erin experienced was portrayed, or rather the way she handled it, didn't seem to fit with her character.  She thought if she brought it to the attention of others, or filed a report with the police, that she'd be looked down on, scorned even, because her department doesn't generally have a lot of female employees.  To me, I think her reporting the act, actually doing what she expected others to do, would have served both her and those she served more.  I would think they would see she wasn't going to take it lying down and that dedication may have even "won her points", if anything.  The second issue was actually more general.  Whereas we start off right in the action and we finish out with a bang, the middle tends to get a little dry.  Obviously, research and footwork needs to be completed to solve the crime at hand, but it seemed to draw things out a bit much for my taste.

Image result for psychological

Overall though, I enjoyed my time between the pages.  I really liked how the author allowed us a glimpse inside the mind of the killer periodically throughout the book, though I must say, I was a little perplexed by Charlie and Mina...don't worry, they all come out to play eventually. I must admit, I did guess a piece of the final outcome, but not to the extent that it came to light, or the multi-faceted nature of it.  Way to keep us guessing, Ms. Green!  See if you can solve the case of the century, whether it be this one or the last (Jack the Ripper, anyone?) is a big part of the puzzle, but it makes it THAT much more intriguing.  Recommended for fans of Crime Fiction or Historical Fiction with a psychological twist.




~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



About the author...


Stacy Green is a bestselling mystery and thriller author known for the Lucy Kendall series and the Delta Crossroads trilogy. ALL GOOD DEEDS (Lucy Kendall #1) won a bronze medal for mystery and thriller at the 2015 IPPY Awards. TIN GOD (Delta Crossroads #1) was runner-up for best mystery/thriller at the 2013 Kindle Book Awards. Her next series is KILLING JANE, An Erin Prince thriller.
Stacy has a love of thrillers and crime fiction, and she is always looking for the next dark and twisted novel to enjoy. She started her career in journalism before becoming a stay at home mother and rediscovering her love of writing. She lives in Iowa with her husband and daughter and their three spoiled fur babies.


SITE  |  TWITTER  |  FACEBOOK




~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~






Special thanks to Erika at Meryl L. Moss Media for the ARC for review.  (THANKS!)  For more information on this title, the author, the publisher, or those promotions on the horizon, feel free to click through the links provided above.  This title is IN STORES NOW via Vesuvian Books, so be on the lookout for it on a bookstore shelf or virtual retailer of your choosing.

Until next time, remember...if it looks good, READ IT!





No comments:

Are you an avid reader looking for your next "fix"? Can't bear to be without some form of reading material in your spare time? Welcome to my world! Whether you are seeking a new book to "feed your need", or you are an author seeking an unbiased point of view on your own recent masterpiece, this is the place to be. With life as with books, you never know where the next step might take you...
Copyright © 2009-present Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers
Powered by Blogger
Content by the Insatiable Reader